PBS LearningMedia announces 2016 class of Digital Innovators | American Graduate (Main)

PBS LearningMedia announces 2016 class of Digital Innovators

Posted by Aja Williams on

PBS LearningMedia has selected 52 teachers across the United States to serve as the latest class of its Digital Innovator program. These teachers will serve as Lead Innovators as well as a fuller class.

“This year we received a record number of applications from qualified teachers from across the country and we are excited to welcome this new class of digitally savvy educators to our growing group of leaders,” said Alicia Levi, Vice President, PBS Education. “Education for learners of all ages is at the core of PBS’ mission, and we are committed to providing teachers and students with the tools and content necessary to succeed in today’s digital classroom. I look forward to working alongside this group as they continue to engage and empower the next generation of students.”

Digital Innovators will be allowed year-long professional development opportunities, virtual trainings, exclusive resources from PBS LearningMedia and a free PBS TeacherLine professional development course.

The lead innovators also receive an all-expense paid trip to the 2016 PBS LearningMedia Digital Summit in Denver, Colorado.

This year’s lead innovators include:

  • Nira Dale – Florence City Schools, Florence, Alabama (Alabama Public Television)
  • Larissa Wright-Elson – South Anchorage High School, Anchorage, Alaska (Alaska Public Media)
  • Kaci Heins – Northland Preparatory Academy, Flagstaff, Arizona (Eight, Arizona PBS)
  • Mary Beth Hatch – Harrison Junior High School, Harrison, Arkansas (AETN)
  • Margaret Agbowo – Berkeley Technology Academy, Berkeley, California (KQED)
  • Andrea Adams – Skyview Middle School, Colorado Springs, Colorado (Rocky Mountain PBS)
  • Leon Tynes – Engineering and Science University Magnet School, New Haven, Connecticut (Connecticut Public Television)
  • Jennifer Guido – Richard Shields Elementary School, Rehoboth Beach, Delaware (WHYY)
  • Blair Mishleau – KIPP DC Heights Academy, Washington, District of Columbia (WHUT)
  • Dan Koch – Citrus Springs Middle School, Citrus Springs, Florida (WUFT)
  • Shana White – Creekland Middle School, Lawrenceville, Georgia (Georgia Public Broadcasting)
  • Liz Castillo – Punahou School, Honolulu, Hawaii (Hawaii PBS)
  • John Stegmaier – Timberline High School, Boise, Idaho (Idaho Public Television)
  • Aleta Garrett – City Incite for CPS High Schools, Chicago, Illinois (WTTW)
  • Jared Knipper – Syracuse Elementary, Syracuse, Indiana (WNIT)
  • Joseph McCright – Stowe Elementary School, Des Moines, Iowa (Iowa Public Television)
  • Todd Flory – Wheatland Elementary School, Wichita, Kansas (KPTS)
  • James Wampler – Shelby County High School, Louisville, Kentucky (KET)
  • Cassie Krause – SciTech Academy, New Orleans, Louisiana (WYES)
  • Beth Heidemann – Cushing Community School, Rockland, Maine (MPBN)
  • Marcia Porter – Lockerman Middle School, Denton, Maryland (Maryland Public Television)
  • Michelle Read – Oak Middle School, Shrewsbury, Massachusetts (WGBH)
  • Andrew Hopkins – Tyrone Elementary School, Harper Woods, Michigan (Detroit Public TV)
  • Jesse Buetow – Randolph Heights Elementary School, St. Paul, Minnesota (Twin Cities Public Television)
  • Carmen Christmas – Quitman County Middle School, Cleveland, Mississippi (Mississippi Public Broadcasting)
  • Chantell Mason – Iveland Elementary, St. Louis, Missouri (Nine Network)
  • Shelly Stanton – Billings Public Schools, Billings, Montana (Montana PBS)
  • Andrew Easton – Westside High School, Omaha, Nebraska (NET)
  • Casey Korder – Claude & Stella Parson Elementary School, Omaha, Nebraska (NET)
  • Patrick Kaplo  – Windham High School, Windham, New Hampshire (New Hampshire Public Television)
  • Steve Isaacs – William Annin Middle School, Basking Ridge, New Jersey (NJTV/WNET)
  • Dominic Pettine – Washington Middle School, Albuquerque, New Mexico (New Mexico PBS)
  • Katie Jacobsen – Hamilton Central School, Hamilton, New York (WCNY)
  • Rebecca Goddard – Bostian Elementary School, China Grove, North Carolina (UNC)
  • Kayla Delzer – Legacy Elementary School, West Fargo, North Dakota (Prairie Public Television)
  • Kevin Cornell, Ed. S. – Beavercreek City Schools, Beavercreek, Ohio (ThinkTV)
  • Drew Robinson – Tulsa Public Schools, Tulsa, Oklahoma (OETA)
  • Ryan Wiggins – Juniper Elementary, Bend, Oregon (Oregon Public Broadcasting)
  • Joseph Welch – North Hills Middle School, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania (WQED)
  • Glenda Lozada – Josefina Marrero Febus Elementary School, Naranjito, Puerto Rico (WMJT Sistema)
  • Roberto Gonzalez – Dr. Jorge Alvarez High School, Riverside, Rhode Island (Rhode Island PBS)
  • Carla Jefferson – Darlington County School District, Florence, South Carolina (SCETV)
  • Heidi Coffin – Badger Clark Elementary, Box Elder, South Dakota (South Dakota Public Broadcasting)
  • Wanda Terral – Lakeland Elementary School, Memphis, Tennessee (WKNO)
  • Lisa Johnson – Westlake High School, Austin, Texas (KLRU)
  • Sean D’Abbraccio – Gifft Hill School, St. John, United States Virgin Islands (WTJX Virgin Islands)
  • Linda Davis – Hillside Middle School, Salt Lake City, Utah (KUED)
  • Matt Neckers – Green Mountain Technology and Career Center (GMTCC), Eden, Vermont (Vermont PBS)
  • Jacqueline Firster – Abingdon Elementary School, Arlington, Virginia (WETA)
  • Michelle Zimmerman – Renton Preparatory Christian School, Renton, Washington (KCTS9)
  • Rebecca Recco – Edgewood Elementary, Charleston, West Virginia (West Virginia Public Broadcasting)
  • Laura Busch – Blair Elementary, Waukesha, Wisconsin (Milwaukee Public Television/WI Media Lab)

To learn more about this class as well as about the program, visit the PBS LearningMedia website.